127 Comments
Jan 12, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Hi my name is Lizette Watts. I am 41 and originally from South Africa but moved to Italy (Reggio Appenino area) with my husband, daughter and our Labrador Luna in August 2020 mid pandemic. We moved to Italy to escape city living and the perpetual rat race of corporate jobs and It was our hope and dream to open to renovate a country house into B&B slow-life-inspired retreat. We are still looking for the perfect property so in the mean time I work online as a small business and brand coach and my husband consults in the Logistic industry. In the meantime we cook, bake, bike, garden and love to travel and explore Italy with our daughter who is now 11. I love writing about our journey on Instagram and our blog called Watts in Italy and love reading and learning from others like yourself about food, cooking and life in Italy

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Hello from beautiful Kentucky. I’m Teresa, 71, retired physician and lover of food and travel. Grew up on family farm in Tennessee and as eldest daughter of 5 kids, I’ve cooked since I could reach table and stove (though I couldn’t always be trusted with hot or sharp til older). My mom was fabulous country cook and together we won many prizes at the county fair each summer. I captured my (52 yrs married and still counting!) husband’s eye and heart cooking for him on early date and I’m still loving to cook, share, and eat! My first cookery adventure in Italy was Tuscany in 1996 with Peggy Markel and I’ve never stopped traveling, feasting, learning and sharing. With friends we own palazzo in Montalcino (location inside city walls is fabulous!) so we go as often as possible. Of course last couple of years have been slooow (not as good as “slow food😉) but things are picking up now.I enjoy this community and the stories are true to heart and palate ...just like the all the foods of Italy 🇮🇹. And as a farm girl where food and family are love and life, my heart belongs to Tuscany

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Love this idea!

I'm Rachel, and I'm a full time recipe developer and food writer living in the English countryside. I turn 30 this year (which is crazy when you think I started blogging when I was still in school) and I write a newsletter called ingredient which lets me actually do food writing instead of constantly having to blog recipes I know will do well on Google to pay my mortgage! I always read cookbooks I buy or I'm given cover-to-cover before I cook from them, and I've written two myself - my goal though is to get a publisher interested in my first novel this year! When I'm cooking for myself and now creating a recipe for a client (or the Google algorithm) I cook lots of Korean food, Asian-inspired vegetable-forward vegan dishes, and LOTS of pasta! (Usually dry, but I got a pasta machine for Christmas so I know what I'm doing the next time I have some time off!)

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Hello Tommaso and Giulia! I’ve been following the website for the past three years! It was my happy place through the rough months of 2020 while I was living in NYC. I like how hearty foods bring us together, and I love the comfort food provides. I love reading books , baking with my 5 years old son and taking pictures. I’m 35 ,family photographer, originally from Israel and been living in NY for four years now with my partner and our three children.

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Hi, I’m Lenore. I’m 33 and live in a small town in Ohio with my husband and our Australian shepherd. I’ve always loved to bake and ever since we married, I’ve fallen in love with cooking, especially learning to cook meals in honor of my husband’s Italian heritage. We hope to return to Italy to visit his family hometowns in the next few years!

I love learning authentic Italian recipes here as well as glimpses into beautiful places in Italy through the Postcards. I also love to sing at my Church, dance, read, and hike with our dog.

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

During the pandemic I discovered "Cooking with an Italian Accent", Jul's gentle voice and beautiful descriptions both soothed and inspired me, turning my long daily walks into mini trips to Tuscany. When I'm not working (I'm an actor and acting teacher), I enjoy cooking, traveling, gardening, and being with my husband, children, grandchildren and friends. My time is split between Pennsylvania, NYC and Texas. I hope to return to Italy soon and hopefully take a cooking class from Guilia and learn how to make pici! My name is Rachel and I can't wait to explore Guilia and Tommaso's new cookbook.

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Hi I'm Linda I am 62 and my parents were born in Lucca. I grew up and still live in the Bay Area but I have spent a lot of time in Tuscany. My Nonne lived with us when I was growing up and they were constantly in the kitchen. We always had a vegetable garden and are now fortunate to have a vineyard and olive grove in Healdsburg. So your site has all the things I love: Tuscan cooking, vegetables and family!

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Hi I'm Deborah. I'm 71 and have been cooking since before I started school. My Mother desided to teach me, as I was so eager to learn. I have not stopped learning. I took a simple culinary course at a local trade school many years ago. I've always loved to cook. I've spent 50 years working in resaurants. From cooking to managing. That is how I show love is with food. I taught myself Asian, Indian, Middle Eastern, Vega nad Vegetarian and now Italian. I collect good cookbooks and lots of happy friends. As I am now a shut-in, this is how I travel and see the world through authentic recipes.

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Ciao! I’m Marguerite, retired and living in a small town near Cleveland, Ohio. In June 2017, my husband and I took a cooking class with Giulia in her kitchen, after which we enjoyed lunch with Tommaso. Giulia also took us to a cheese producer far out in the countryside -- not something the average tourist in Tuscany could possibly do. Since then I’ve enjoyed cooking those dishes many times along with recipes from Giulia’s cookbooks and blog. My family’s roots are in Abruzzo and I enjoy studying Italian. I’m taking an online course right now to prepare for future travels. Cooking and travel are my passions and it’s even better when I can combine both of them. I find the best “souvenirs” of our trips are recreating the dishes I’ve enjoyed along the way.

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Hello, I am Zoe, 71, from North Western Ontario, Canada. I live in the forest by a lake and feel so fortunate. I have been vegetarian most of my life. I collect cookbooks and love to read all of them and try the recipes that excite me. I have travelled extensively in Italy and love Tuscany but there are even more places to discover and love. I hope to go back to Tuscany in the near future.

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Hi There, I'm Barney, 60, from the Berkshire Hills of Massachusetts, USA, and I also have a place in Cetona, in SE Tuscany. I used to have a catering business cooking for workshops and retreats. Now I'm a real estate agent. I love eating (and cooking) everything under the sun, but mostly I love vegetables. I'm dreaming of a way to spend more time in Italy...

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Hi, I'm Zara, 56 this year and live in the countryside in Tuscany with my husband Nigel and young dog, Alba. I am learning about and training as a nutritional therapist (very very slowly) and love to cook with the ingredients that are local and in season. Giulia's recipes really inspire me and last night I made gnudi which was immensely satisfying - eaten far too quickly for any photographs. My husband loves to make sourdough and fresh pasta - I leave this to him and focus on the savoury aspects. I love the beach and adore seafood and fish but don't cook it nearly enough.

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 13, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

I love that this newsletter has by-far the most eclectic group of readers than any other newsletter I read. I’m Kelcey, I just turned 45, and I’ve lived all over the U.S., but currently live in New Hampshire. I am passionate about supporting local farms and food-economies, and I’m addicted to homey podcasts, which is how I ended up here. I’m so excited for your new cookbook!

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Ciao! I’m Kiki and I’m a 63-year-old (wow. Did I just say that??!) former health and wellness professional living in Tucson Arizona USA with hubby, Dad and labradoodle Lucy. I left my corporate job about 3 years ago and started to work on my mission/passion of helping others to be healthier and happier with my little business “Healthy Sexy Kitchen” and just started a newsletter of the same name along with my food blog and healthy cooking classes. I’m an avid tennis player and also spend way too much time researching health and diet. I have 3 grandchildren- 5 months to 4 years - and get to see them regularly! I’ve been reading Juls’ blog for many years and not only appreciate the food and stories but Guilia’s writing voice which has totally inspired me!

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Tony. 52 from Australia (Brisbane). I've always enjoyed Italian food food, but in 2014 my wife and I went to Umbria and Tuscany for a cooking school as part of our 20th wedding celebrations. That absolutely celebrated our love of Italian/Tuscan/Umbrian cuisine and we take every opportunity to grow Italian vegetables and cook (and eat!) Italian. I've been following Juls Kitchen for about 10 years and am loving it! Grazi!

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Hi, my name is Melinda I'm 71 my niece gave me letters from Tuscany as a Christmas gift. I have enjoyed the first letter and look forward to more letters. I love to learn new cooking techniques and recipes. I enjoy giving causal family and friends dinner parties.

My other interests in life are gardening, bird watching, sewing and family.

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Hi! I'm Wayne, retired and living in Walnut Creek, Calif. I publish VINTAGE MORELS [waynechristensen.substack.com]. It's an online boutique newsletter that tries to point readers to ideas, sometimes with questions: "What Did You Have for Dinner Last Night?" Or: "What’s For Dinner?" Since you are in Italy, I understand about all you ask someone each day is the first question. If you are in the U.S.—we may too—for we’re all forced to think about what we’re going to eat for dinner more than 350 times in a year. No wonder we’re searching the internet, newspapers’ food sections, food magazines, and friends’ ideas constantly. Come join us while exploring moments of merriment and epiphany via cruising the highways and byways of food in and dining out.

Expand full comment
Jan 28, 2023·edited Jan 28, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli

Hello, I am happy to be here, I am 38. I live in Zagreb, Croatia, where I came to study psychology in early 2000s from Herzegovina (near Medjugorje). I live with my husband who came from Rijeka (Fiume) and daughter Lucija (3 month old :D). I work in market research company, previously worked in dairy and meat industry (marketing) but also I am a psychotherapist in education. I always loved eating and cooking since age of 8. My mum taught me how to make cakes, coffee and later on full meals. Me and my husband got together during COVID, by sharing comments on recipes and our first meet ups were about cooking. Out wedding thank you gifts were our little recipe book. Food and cooking is all around us. I love reading, we have a lot of cookbooks, love researching new recipes. I follow a lot of cook bloggers in Instagram. One Croatian blogger mentioned you, and that is how I came to your Instagram and here. I would love to explore and learn more about Italy and Italian cuisine.

Even now as I am a new mum, one of the first things I did a side from taking care of Lucija is cooking and baking, for us and guests. I hope to connect somehow psychology and food in a fun way, not only talking about eat disorders. I am looking forward to learn more from you and community you are creating <3

Expand full comment
Mar 7Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hello! My name is Ian and I subscribed to Letters from Tuscany due to my love of Tuscan food, sentiment, and personality. I love reading about great food and wine and how these seemingly simple things greatly affect our individual lives and culture at large. The Tuscany Year was one of my favorite books I read in 2023 and it showcased the amazing seasonality and economy of Tuscan cooking. Plus, I just love to read about regional Italian culture. As someone who has struggled to learn Italian for years, your ability to speak both English and Italian is impressive!

I love to eat, cook, and learn and have started my own substack about these topics this year. It's been a bit scary! But a lot of fun too. I can't wait to dive into Letters from Tuscany and order your cookbook, it sounds amazing and at the heart of how I love to approach my time in the kitchen. Grazie,

Expand full comment
Feb 22Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hi! My name is Mark and I'm from Toronto, Canada. I have always loved to cook from a young age watching my parents and grandparents in the kitchen. My love of cooking led me from making pizzas for my neighbours, doing popups at local breweries and festivals to opening up a pizza shop in the east end of Toronto in 2020 called Mark's Pizzas. Over the last year I have started making and selling fresh pasta. My "education" on that has gone from Evan Funke, to Meryl of Pasta Social Club to you Giulia! I want to make the best pasta form my family and customers! I've been following along here but recently signed up as a subscriber. My nemesis is fresh lasagna, lol. Still trying to work that one out. Hope to learn lots here and enjoy your journey! You never know, maybe you will see me and my family for an in person class at your place!

Expand full comment
Feb 9Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hello I am Maria. I live in Virginia but am originally from Chicago Illinois. I am 100 percent Italian and love everything having to do with Italy. I also love cooking. I have been listening to your podcast for several years and just love your passion for cooking. Looking forward to being a subscriber. Grazie Mille

Expand full comment
Jan 23Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hi! I just learned about you Giulia, and your book last week, ordered it and made the Pici Cacio e Pepe over the weekend! It was amazing.

My name is Sharon and I’m from Boston, MA in US. I’ve been obsessed with Italy for my adult life 😂

I’ve been to cooking school and I ran a personal chef biz for a number of years. Making homemade, hand rolled/shaped pasta is my jam, though Italian cooking in general is my fave.

I’ve just started to learn to speak Italian and it’s my dream to move to Italy someday 💜

Expand full comment
Jan 4Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

I look forward to following you and learning so much more about home cooking. I live in an area where my cooking is the absolute best cooking so it’s just better to eat at home. I would like to do dinner parties more for my friends. I’m a good at home cook but want to learn from

You. I’m really looking forward to it ❤️🥘

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hello! My name is Cookie Till and I live near the seashore in New Jersey. I've run a restaurant for 26 years serving food that is simple, fresh and as local as possible. Later came a bakery and cafe and then a deli, sandwich and specialty wine store. My latest project in 2020 was acquiring the last piece of farmland in our area. We are a non profit working to regenerate 78 acres as well as educate and engage our community around the beauty of working together to create an inclusive local economy. In our kitchen at the farm the ethos is simple, fresh, nutrient dense and delicious!

When I came across your Letters From Tuscany on sub stack it spoke to me. One, because we seem to share the same sentiments around food and cooking and two, feeling the need for rest, rejuvenation and inspiration, I have been thinking of visiting Tuscany!

I look forward to exploring your posts and learning more. Thank you!

Expand full comment
founding
Dec 21, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hello , my name is Johnnie and I am a 55year-old married man with 29 year-old son . All three of us work for an Arabian Princess and we split our time between Suffolk (UK) , Normandy (France) and Abu Dhabi . We manage various businesses but mainly it’s racehorses and show jumpers . Love cooking and food and I particularly love Italian food . Thought your book Cucina Povera was exceptional so wanted to come here , learn more and support you

Expand full comment
Dec 15, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

My name is Jean I am 68 and live in Epping NH. I own both of your cookbooks, participated in your Christmas cookie exchange years ago and I used to frequent your blog. I love cooking and gardening and look forward to getting your newsletters on Substack. I wish you and your family a magical Christmas.

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hi! My name is Kellie Douglas Williams. I live in Memphis, TN and I teach Culinary Arts in an urban high school setting. I also own a catering business "Kelz Kitchen". I make/sell breakfast before going to work and it is the highlight of my day. I grew up cooking and watching my great grandmother and mother cook soul food from the soul. I am a foodie (if that is still a term, lol) and I love to travel and eat. My partner and I are both Army Veterans and our kids (from our previous lives) are all grown and out of the house. We have a small farm "NannyCoop Farms" where we grow tomatoes, peppers, watermelons, squash, okra, cucumbers and purple hull peas in the Summer. In the Fall, we specialize in turnip, mustard and collard greens. I can everything and sell what we don't eat. We are now both 52 and are expanding our brands. I am also an avid writer (got it from my Mama) and I am wanting to start a food blog. I love teaching and I hope to blend my love for food, teaching and writing. I am so glad to be here :)

Expand full comment
Nov 8, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

How nice to run across this wonderful newsletter and community project. My name is Maria Camille and I'm from Santa Barbara, California where our Italian family is 5 generations here. For the last 4 years I've been living in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico.

I'm looking forward to enjoying your Letters and Posts from your Tuscany kitchen. How special.

For more about me . . . here's my Back Story "From Mafia Wife to Nomad Entrepreneur" from my Substack newsletter; https://mastersmisfitsandmentors.substack.com/p/from-mafia-wife-to-nomad-entrepreneur.

Now, can't wait to get started making some of your recipes.

Expand full comment

Hi! I discovered Giulia and this Substack while listening to her on Everything Cookbooks (episode 68 if you haven't listened!:)) I live in the US (Oconomowoc, WI to be exact) but travel 2-3 times per year to my soul-country, Spain. However, I love Italy too! :) I'm a freelance writer specializing in Spain, golf, wellness, travel, and have been at my newsletter for almost a year - What I'd Rather Be Talking About. However, my passion project is taking my dad's emails to his childhood friend and organizing them in the book he always wanted to write, Letters to Louie (letterstolouie.com offers a peek!). Looking forward to getting some new Italian recipes to give to my husband to cook :) (I'm a bit of a disaster in the kitchen!)

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hi! My name is John! Just got back from 3 weeks in Italy including time in Siena. Loved every minute of it. I wanted to thank you for writing your piece about considering traveling to the smaller areas of Tuscany instead of the larger cities which were seemingly overrun with tourists. Thanks you for sharing your recipes and insights of your region and country.

Grazie mille!

John

Expand full comment
May 23, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Buongiorno! I am Honor, currently 42 and an artist and writer from Australia. At the start of the first 2020 lockdown I left inner-city Melbourne (and my beautiful grown up stepson) with my partner and young daughter, to wait out the pandemic in our ramshackle weekender in the Central Victorian countryside. After a month of living amongst the trees and birds and kangaroos (and yes, rodents and spiders and snakes!) we realised we could never return to city living. Though I am city born and bred, I felt exactly as if I had finally come home. This dramatic change in circumstance had a profound effect on my sense of self and shifted the standards I had for myself as an artist and as a human being. I stopped being so anxious about how others perceived me, and this enabled some interesting experiments with my own way of life. I stopped making art almost completely for two years, and instead began writing a children’s novel. I started trying to spend my days more intuitively, rather than trying to push myself to perform consistently in only one aspect of my life. I found an Italian teacher (in the middle of the Australian bush!) and began weekly conversation classes, finally risking the embarrassment of making mistakes and speaking out loud the language that I have been learning almost silently since primary school. I began a veggie garden and became more in touch with the land and the seasons by trying to make do with what is locally available, even when it is only nettles and dandelions! I came across Giulia’s blog only this week, while searching recipes to deal with a glut of green tomatoes as the first frosts set in. In my old life, I taught drawing at an art school, and made a few trips to the Venice Biennale with groups of students, which was magnificent. After two of these tours, I retreated to a Tuscan farmhouse in Molino del Piano with my partner to recover and soak in the unique glories of Tuscany. Reading Giulia’s blog, I felt an immediate kinship with her written voice and approach to life.

Expand full comment
May 6, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hey Giulia, fellow Italian here. Born in the North, raised in the South, gotten adult in the Centre and now living in wonderful Scotland. I'm a data lover and have a newsletter where I create data stories, hence my presence here on Substack. I try to juggle between the fast pace of the tech world and the overarching desire for peace and quiet - I love hand-crafted projects and all the things about exploration and adventure, including with food! And of course, I love my country 🇮🇹❤️

Expand full comment
Mar 17, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hello. I’m Steve from Massachusetts. I have my own Substack called The Set List about jazz music. I’m here because, well, you need more than music to sustain yourself!

Expand full comment
Mar 15, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

I'm a retired guy who has LOTS of time to try new cooking ideas. I've been doing a lot of cooking experiments(not all of them are "keepers"). I especially enjoy trying other(spicier) cuisines, Mexican, Indian, Chinese etc. I'm "mostly" vegetarian, I eat a lot of beans, and generally use meat in small amounts only as a flavoring.

Expand full comment

Hello. My name is Rosalie Rinaldi and I've been a subscriber for three years. I really appreciate you and your website. My father was born in Benevento and my mother was born in America. Her parents were Neapolitan so I was raised on the foods of Napoli. How lucky am I?

I am 82 years young, retired, and a foodie. I've loved visiting Italy and seeing the many attractions of Rome, eating the foods and shopping. I visited Avellino with a friend whose father was born there. We were entertained royally. We started with figs and salami, then spaghetti marinara and roast

chicken. It couldn't have been a better visit. The memory of the warmth of the family is always with me when I think of Italy.

I am carrying on the traditions of my mother especially at the Holidays. Pizza Rustica, Easter breads, sweet and with hardboiled eggs. I make the Italian Wedding soup regularly and love your recipe for stuffed peppers with bread and olives. I'll stop now.

Thank you Giulia and Tommaso.

Expand full comment
Jan 22, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Ciao! My name is Jayne and I'm in my early 40s and live a few hours north of New York City, but originally from there. I'm in human resources for the state government and I live with my husband and daughter, also Giulia. 😊 Some of my great grandparents were from Sicilia and Napoli. We have been to Toscana twice, including for two amazing weeks this past summer and hoping to visit Sicilia next year. I really enjoy catching up to the newsletters and trying out the recipe demos when time permits. Grazie for sharing with us!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Ciao Giulia & Tommaso! My name is Jaimi and I currently live in Nevada near Lake Tahoe. I retired from my interior design business a few years ago and my husband and I have been avid travelers for the past 20 years. We love Italy! Last year we spent extended time in Provence and found the cuisine there amazing also - especially all the different ways they prepared fresh vegetables. Despite having very weak culinary skills myself (something I hope to change) we could not get enough of the produce at all the weekly markets. Next up we will be back in Italy and I hope to take a few cooking classes to start build my skills. I was told about your class from a friend's daughter that attended one on her honeymoon in 2018 or 19 and have been following your instagram since then. I definitely will be on the lookout for your podcast when it resumes. Grazie for bringing Tuscany to us virtually.

Expand full comment
Jan 16, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Ciao, I‘m Stephanie, 50 years old, from Germany. Well, I‘m addicted to Italy for 15 years now. When I crossed the Brennero with friends in 2008 something magical happened to my heart. I returned every year since 2008. Mostly to Tuscany and Firenze ❤️. Since 2019 I‘m exploring also some other parts of Italy … with my boyfriend who was born in Puglia and grew up in Lombardia. Besides traveling to Italy I love taking pictures and of course cooking and baking … the italian way.

Well … I‘m italian@heart. That‘s it. Cari salutoni. Stephanie ♥️🇮🇹

Expand full comment
Jan 16, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Small world Tamzin, thanks so much. Adventures is definitely an apt way of describing life here in Italy!

Expand full comment
Jan 15, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Sunday, Jan. 15. Hello. I am happy to have signed up for a paid subscription. This morning I had a notification that you posted today, but nothing came to my email. I looked in Spam, and also directly with Substack. Did I miss something? Any advice? Don't want to miss your posts!

I came to your delightful site via Domenica Marchetti's "Buona Domenica." I've known her for years, used to live in the same neighborhood, have taken her classes, and have traveled on some of her tours. I began my love of Italy as a college student many decades ago when I had a term in Florence, a place I love (helps that I have friends there to this day.) I've been to Umbria and Abruzzo--lots more exploring the country in the years ahead, I hope. In the meantime will explore via cooking classes featuring different regions. I now live in Lancaster, PA, after a long time in the DC area. Glad to be in a more rural setting, and in season, the farmers markets are wonderful (and inexpensive), if not quite as varied as what I had previously. So I grow more interesting varieties of squash, beans, tomatoes, etc., myself. The soil is awesome here.

So glad to have learned of you and your husband. Thank you! Barbara Wyckoff

Expand full comment
Jan 15, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

When you are birder (slang for bird watcher).You watch for birds every where you go.

Expand full comment
Jan 15, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hey both, my name is Massi, I’m 29 and originally from Iran but I’ve been living in Germany for ten years now.

I’m working as environmental engineer and I’m in love with Italian culture, food and language (Italian in the heart). Last year I lived for 6 month in my dream city Rome and still dreaming of moving to Italy. I really enjoy reading your newsletter and learning about food and life in Italy and hope to visit and discover Tuscany in the near future.

Expand full comment
Jan 15, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

His father’s family is from Pacentro & Sulmona in the Abruzzo region and his mom’s side from Sicily. Thank you Giulia!

Expand full comment

Hello both, I am Louis. I am currently in Spain and waiting for my application for residency in Italy to come through. I am a former chef and spend my waiting days writing kitchen tales (fiction) and cooking (reality) plus being a dog owner (new to me). I love reading about cucina povera and hope at some stage to learn even more about food life in Italy (wish me luck!) Thanks for the Letters from Tuscany. I am enjoying the posts. L

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 14, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hi all, I’m Ellen and live outside of Raleigh, NC. My husband Dave and I were fortunate to go back to Italy this past June and be part of Gulia’s cooking class. We had a wonderful time and hubby is now angling to go back and do her 3 day experience. In the meantime we are enjoying the recipes and chats on the group. We are both retired teachers (although Dave still substitutes frequently at the high school he taught at for 22 years). I was in early childhood/special education while he does high school. I have always enjoyed cooking and baking and recently started back to breads. Simple and slow cooked meals preferred at our house. I’m waiting on the new cookbook, the pre order was a Christmas gift. Of course another trip to Italy would have been great, but that will come again. For us it takes planning as we have 3 special needs young adults who live at home and we have to rally support for them when we travel. In the meantime we explore wineries and create foods to pair with them and enjoy everything Letters from Tuscany brings us.

Expand full comment
Jan 14, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hi from beautiful Oakland, CA. My name is Jesset and I’m an avid eater of simple and delicious food. I’ve followed you and your family for the last couple of years and I’ve traveled to Tuscany 15 years ago. My fondest memories were the food, wine and landscape. I’d love to visit again and joining this community will continue to inspire me.

Expand full comment
Jan 13, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia

Hi! My name is Lisa and I live in a small town in Texas. We, my husband and I, have a small hobby farm with chickens, horses, bees, dogs and cats and a garden. I work in the corporate world and commute into Houston and work remotely. I long to be free from it to better care for my Dad who has Alzheimer’s and my Mom who lives with us. I love all things Italy and long to visit one day. I’ve been studying and trying to learn Italian off and on for years. This year I signed up for a more serious class and hope I will gain the confidence I need to speak it. I collect cookbooks and love to cook. It somehow grounds me and I always feel better when I’m cooking. I love Jul’s Kitchen and one day, Lord willing, I’ll take her class in person. I love quilting, reading, riding horses and just enjoying the outdoors! I love this group and looking forward to getting to know everyone better! Hugs to all, Lisa

Expand full comment

Hello! My name is Ali, I am 30 and living in Minnesota with my husband Eric and our bernedoodle Gus. I love to garden (in the short growing season we have in a colder climate), cook, read, and travel. I fell in love with Italy when studying abroad in Rome many years ago, and we had the opportunity to return for our honeymoon in 2022. We had a lovely adventure in Tuscany and stay in an agriturismo. We love to make pasta for family and friends and are looking forward to making your recipes! :) I started with your Ricciarelli for Christmas, which were a delight!

Expand full comment

I'm still not getting your emails. Boo Hoo.

Expand full comment
deletedJan 13, 2023Liked by Giulia Scarpaleggia, Tommaso Galli
Comment deleted
Expand full comment